Macaron Recipe

 

IMG_2013

 

A couple of weeks ago, I wanted to make some macarons and it had been so long since I made them, I thought I would refer back to this blog to remind myself of all my learnings and use my adjusted recipe.  I, then, realised how incredibly hidden the recipe I use is on my blog.  Time to rectify that.

My preferred recipe, comes from the amazing Australian Women’s Weekly baking compendium Bake. I know not très authentique, but hey it works…I’ve tweaked it a little, because that’s me!

3 egg whites

2 tablespoons of caster sugar

2 tablespoons of freeze-dried fruit powder of your flavour preference (In NZ “Fresh-As” brand is fabulous)

200g icing sugar

120g almond meal

 

Prepare your oven trays, grease & line with baking papers

Gently dry almond meal at a low temperature in the oven.

Beat egg whites with an electric mixer until soft peaks form, add caster sugar and fruit powder, beat until sugar is dissolved.

Blend almond meal and icing sugar in food processor, until well mixed.

Combine sifted almond meal and icing sugar with egg white mixture, gently folding until just combined.

Pipe into desired size rounds 3-4cm onto prepared trays. drop trays a couple of times from a small height.

Leave to rest a good 20mins to an hour or longer if need be.

Heat oven to 150C

Bake for 15mins approx in centre of oven

Leave to cool

Sandwich together with ganache or butter cream icing flavoured as you wish

 

 

All my hints, tricks and tips for making macarons can be found over on my macarons secrets page.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

